In Osceola County Florida as well as other Florida Counties, drinking and driving is a serious offense. While the most devastating consequence is injury or loss of life, there also are repercussions for offenders that can result the strict fines and the loss of driving privileges.
If you’re ever pulled over and suspect your blood-alcohol level is above the legal limit, there area few things you should know. First of all, when you signed your name on your driver’s license, you have given your implied consent to tests that will help determine whether alcohol has impaired your ability to drive safely. The police officer will most likely conduct a “breathalyer test” where you blow into a devices that measures the alcohol concentrations in your breath. If you test above the legal limit of .08 percent, you will be placed under arrest.
Refusing to submit to a blood-alcohol test can immediately result in the suspension of your driver’s license. It also works against you in court because it most often constitutes implied guilt.
For minors under the age of 21 who drink and drive, there are zero-tolerance laws. In fact, minors are immediately arrested for blood-alcohol levels of .02 percent or above. In most cases, first-time offenders will have their license suspended for 6 months, which jumps to a year for second offenses.
In the State of Florida, a first-offense DUI is typically considered a misdemeanor. However, if you have two DUI convictions on your record within the past 10 years, or there was major property damage or injury to another person, you’ll be charged with a felony. And the fines could run $10,000 with 15 years of imprisonment.
While it is never possible to conceal your DUI conviction in Florida, in certain situations, there are things an experienced attorney can do to help minimize the impact of this serious crime, reduce the fines and help restore your driving privileges. If you’re ever caught driving under the influence of alcohol, cooperate with police officers, respectfully consent to the blood-alcohol test, and then call us at our Kissimmee Traffic Law Office at 407-483-7973. We’re here to stand up for your rights.
Skubiak & Rivas P.A.
811 W. Mabbette St.
Kissimmee, FL 34741
SE HABLA ESPAÑOL