The State of Florida has a Zero Tolerance law for drivers under 21. This means that any driver under 21 that is stopped by law enforcement and has a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher will automatically have their Florida drivers license suspended for 6 months. The .02 limit really means that you cannot have a single drink and drive.
It’s illegal for anybody in Florida to consume alcohol under the age of 21. This offense is serious and the consequences can be life long.
For drivers over 21 the legal limit in Florida is .08. Regardless of your age be aware that drinking and driving is considered a serious offense. Below we have summarized the penalties in the state of Florida for a first offense DUI, but the average cost including legal defense, fines, and auto insurance increases is $8000.
Florida Penalties for DUI First Conviction
Fine – $250 to $500
Community Service – 50 Hours
Probation – Not more than 1 Year
Imprisonment – Not more than 6 Months
Imprisonment with BAL of .08 or higher with a minor in the vehicle, not more than 9 months
License Revocation – Minimum of 180 days
DUI School – 12 Hours
The penalties for a DUI only increase as your DUI arrests increase. If you are a first time DUI offender in Florida, call us for a Free Case Evaluation. 407-420-4500